On November 9th, 2008 (8:30-4:30 p.m. in the UCF Teaching Academy) was the Second ever UCF Ethics Bowl Competition!  The teams were the following:

The Good, the Bad, and the Ethical,
Ward 3,
TJ’s Ethical Eagles,
Vita Nova

These teams competed in three rounds of competition from 9:15am to 1:00pm to determine the 4 top teams that would compete in the semifinal and final rounds which went from 2:00pm to 4:15pm.  The semifinalists were:

SURC (1)
TJ’s Ethical Eagles (2)
Ward 3 (3)
Eth-X-Men (4)

In the final round, the Eth-X-Men and TJ’s Ethical Eagles competed, with TJ’s Ethical Eagles coming out on top. Congratulations to both of these teams, and to ALL of the UCF ethics bowl teams that participated and did such a commendable job! It was a truly thought-provoking and conversation-starting event for all involved.Further, it is very important to thank all of the people who helped to make the first UCF Ethics Bowl a success. 


Judges and Moderators:

John Breek, Community
Mason Cash, Department of Philosophy
Jane Compson, Department of Philosophy
Steve Fiore, Director, Cognitive Sciences Laboratory, IST
Arup Guha, Engineering & Computer Science
Ronnie Hawkins, Department of Philosophy
Paul Lartonoix, CAH Dean’s Office
Jan Marquez-Diaz, Community
Nestor Marquez-Diaz, Graduate Student, IDS
Alison Morrison-Shetlar, Undergraduate Studies
Shelley Park, Department of Philosophy
Bill Schaeffer, Attorney, UCF Alumnus
John Venecek, University Libraries
Kristin Wetherbee, CAH Dean’s Office
Jan Whitehouse, UCF Radio
Hank Lewis, Information Fluency


Ethics Bowl Organizers:

Nancy Stanlick, Department of Philosophy
Michael Strawser, Department of Philosophy
Martha Marinara, QEP for Information Fluency and Department of English
Hank Lewis, Information Fluency
Robert Slade, UCF Civil Engineering Major and IF/Philosophy/Core Commitments Assistant
John Townsend, UCF Philosophy Major and Core Commitments Assistant


Faculty Coaches and Sponsors:

Kimberly Schneider
Madi Dogariu
Martha Marinara
Martin Dupuis
Michael Strawser


Competing Students:

Raafia Baboolal, Rose Crutcher, Ross Harrison, Ruth Strakosha, John Townsend

The Good, the Bad, and the Ethical:
Andrew Nackashi, Niko Pifferetti, Kevin Sopczak, Lindsy Townsend

Ward 3:
Kyle James Brown, Carter Hardy, Tony Ordonez, Ali Sims, Madeline Viera

TJs Ethical Eagles:
Cory Chenard, Chris Estoch, Alexander Kaplan, Tim Mason, Ross Templeton

Kevin Gysling, Ronald Jackson, Javed Khan, Daniel Leventhal, Natalia da Silva

Vita Nova:
Nicholas DiDonna, Jennifer Pitts, Madeline Wahl


The UCF Ethics Bowl was presented by:

The Association of American Colleges and Universities’ Grant Project, Core Commitments: Educating Students for Personal and Social Responsibility
The UCF Quality Enhancement Plan for Information Fluency
The UCF Department of Philosophy
The UCF Ethics Center Initiative
The UCF Office of Student Rights and Responsibilities